Aloysia gratissima - Beebrush

Aloysia gratissima – Beebrush

 

This Beebrush has been in the front yard under the Oak tree for several years now, and it probably should be transplanted to a spot where it will get full sun. Although it does have these vanilla scented spikes of flowers that attract bees and butterflies and other nectar feeding insects, I find it tends to be spindly in the partial shade it gets, and trimming shrubs is not my strong suit.

So if anyone in my vicinity (Round Rock TX) wants a high maintenance native plant that has a medium water use profile and likes moist soils, feel free to come over and dig it up with my blessings. Because this lovely little shrub will probably not make it through the summer in my yard, as it gets replaced by shade loving plants with low water requirements.